Medieval, Reformation, Renaissance, and Restoration Resources
Early Modern London Theatres (EMLoT) is a research database that lets you see what direct use has been made, over the last four centuries, of pre-1642 documents related to professional performance in purpose-built theatres and other permanent structures in the London area.
Luminarium. The virtual candy store for medieval, Renaissance, and Restoration-studies kids.
Dictionary of Old English Project
at the University of Toronto. The DOE offers two tools for researchers
on its internet site: a Variant Phrase Search, and a List of Texts
cited in the DOE.
Resources for Electronic Research
from the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies. A stunning
collection of links to websites of use to researchers working on topics
in the Reformation and Renaissance.
Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Resources
The Mark Twain Project Online
from the California Digital Library is still in beta, but it already
has over 2300 letters online, about 100 of which also can be viewed as
page images. The project will eventually include images and full text
of Twain's writings, including his autobiography.
NINES is a
scholarly organization dedicated to digital scholarship of the long
nineteenth century. It cross-searches "286,160 peer-reviewed digital
objects from 51 federated sites" including digital archives, journals,
and scholarly websites.
is an extraordinary resource. Here can be found marked-up manuscripts,
nearly 130 images, scholarly criticism, teaching resources, and
digitized images of the complete text of several editions of Leaves of Grass.
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana
University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known
British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an
array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets,
religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of
authors, both prolific and rare.
Twentieth and Twenty-first Century Resources
None so far. Recommendations welcomed!
Language, Rhetoric, etc.
Silva Rhetoricae/The Forest of Rhetoric, from Brigham Young University. The place to go to learn your asteismus from your thaumasmus.
Academy of American Poets. Search the work of over 500 American poets, browse for poems by occasion or theme, get information on publishing and awards, and more.
Poetry from the Library of Congress. Listen to webcasts of American poets discussing their craft.
Poetry Magic. On making poetry. Also see its sister site, TextEtc, for a more advanced discussion on theory and criticism.
Reviews of Books.
Reprints full-text reviews of recently-published fiction and nonfiction
that is popular, literary, or "intriguing" to the editors. Among
criteria for inclusion is that work must have received at least 3
substantial reviews from respected sources. Archives go back to 1992.
The Chronicle of Higher Education provides Arts and Letters Daily, a highly recommended site featuring essays, articles, and book reviews from around the globe.
Digitized Broadside Ballads from the 16th to the 20th centuries are available from Oxford's Bodleian Library.
CHILDE. Search for images from collections of early European children's books. Really fascinating, particularly in comparison to today's counterparts. Courtesy of the European Commission's Culture 2000 program.
Students of English literature and drama will particularly appreciate the Crace Collection of 1200 maps of London and vicinity, digitized and searchable, provided by the British Library.