Books That Inspire 2013

Where the Wild Things Are
Maurice Sendak

Caldecott Medal for Most Distinguished Picture Book (1964).

In 1964, Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are won the Caldecott Medal as the most distinguished picture book. With its beautiful illustrations and description of a young boy visiting the land of the Wild Things, the book has touched the lives of countless children, as well as those of adults. As I read this book to students, I felt that the characters in the book were wonderful examples that a person may be outwardly "wild," but at the core be a wonderful person. We must look past first impressions to see the real person, an important lesson for all.

Sharon E Alexander
Assistant Director for the Women's Philanthropy Network and President's Associates
University Development